Online Dating – Don’t Let the Ads Fool You

I first started online dating YEARS ago. 2007? 2008? Something like that. I’ve also left the sites for months or years at a time. Sometimes my absence has been prompted by meeting someone (online or off), and sometimes it has been prompted by NOT meeting someone. Being online and putting the effort into chatting with a virtual stranger (literally) and having it go nowhere is exhausting, because you generally aren’t just chatting to one stranger, but many. Sometimes it’s like pulling teeth trying to get a conversation going. And sometimes after what you think has been a great conversation and you definitely want to learn more about someone, they delete you with no explanation. Or they see your pictures and then they delete you.
This happens a lot, and you grow a thick skin FAST.

But what is most discouraging is the lack of quality online. You flip through some profiles and (sorry to say it, but it’s true), you can see the reason why some of these guys are single.

The online dating ads are a trap. You will not have amazing dates every week. You will not have an amazing connection to everyone you chat to. You will not find the guys who are pictured in the ads.

Take this one for example:

Image

Uh huh. He ain’t online, girls! And even if he was, a ‘thin, Christian woman’ probably ain’t what he’s looking for!

You will, however, find this guy:

Image

Right now, I’ve got to rush off, but in the coming weeks and months, I’ll be putting up more online dating gems. Hope to see you back here!

8 thoughts on “Online Dating – Don’t Let the Ads Fool You

  1. OMG! Are you serious? Big man seeks subbie female? Wait a minute, which dating website is this? Because they do have websites for that, but even on those sites, I doubt he’ll get the response he’s looking for.

    Like

  2. An impressive share! I have just forwarded this onto a coiworker who has been conducting a little research on this.
    And he in fact bought me dinner due to the fact that I found it for him…
    lol. So let me reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!!

    But yeah, thanx for spending time tto talk about this
    subject here on your web site.

    Like

    • Hi there! Thanks for stopping by! I’m glad you liked my blog!
      I’m more than happy for this blog to be shared, but please ensure you adhere to copyright – anything shared electronically will need to maintain a link to the original post (not the blog in general), etc.

      Like

  3. Oh my goodness! Incredible article dude! Thank you so much, However I am experiencing issues with your RSS.

    I don’t understand the reason why I can’t join it. Is there anybody getting identical RSS
    problems? Anybody who knows the ansswer will you kiundly respond?
    Thanks!!

    Like

    • I’m not aware of any problem. I’ll have a fiddle with with the admin and see if I can change any settings. Thanks for visiting, commenting, and letting me know about RSS issues! 😀
      ~~~
      Ok, I’ve looked around and you should just be able to click the word ‘follow’ in the black band at the top of the browser window. What RSS reader are you using? There’s one from WordPress, or RSSOwl, or try The Old Reader. More information can be found here http://en.support.wordpress.com/feeds/#your-feeds

      Like

Leave a Reply

